There are a lot of people in Virginia who are confused by the reckless endangerment ticket they have. Most of them don’t know what exactly they are charged with. Reckless endangerment refers to when a person is acting in a way that it creates a serious risk of physical injury to another person. This specific term is not used in the Virginia code the general reckless driving rule is applied and it says that you are guilty of reckless driving if you are operating the vehicle in such a way that the life, property, or limb of a person is in danger.
To charge you with the reckless driving in Virginia, all the judges have to see the circumstances and then they decide whether reckless driving was really a danger to other people or property. Reckless driving is generally a broad concept as compared to reckless endangerment. For this reason, it is important that you must ask your attorney immediately. Let’s discuss this topic in detail.
Protecting yourself in Virginia
The Virginia reckless driving is a scary law and you must understand it first. It is better that you must do something in advance. No matter what is the matter, make sure that you are not driving at the speed of 80 in Virginia. Your speed must not be 19 mph over the speed limit. For example, if the speed limit is 65 mph then you can keep it under 80 mph. So understanding it is very important if you want to keep yourself out of the reckless driving boat in Virginia. There are many other types of reckless driving as well such as when you are not able to keep the vehicle under control.
It is very important that you must pay special attention to speed when you are driving on holidays and on weekends. The major enforcement laws work on holidays and on weekends.
Responding a Reckless Driving Ticket
Most of the people don’t know what to do if you are the receiver of this charge. The most important thing that you have to do is to read the ticket carefully and see the section of the law against which you are being charged. If you are charged with simple speeding then you can pay the fine and there is no need to hire a lawyer for the dismissal of the charge.
On the other hand, if you are charged with the reckless endangerment or driving them you must think how you will respond to the matter. There are many states that just let you pay the ticket and go. An informed decision is very necessary before the conviction of this guilt. If you are accepting this guilt in Virginia, then it is better it must be on a record. You can call a local traffic lawyer who is experienced in handling such cases on daily basis. These lawyers will give you a realistic view of all the charges and penalties that the judge can impose on you.